Posted by: Bill | November 6, 2008

R.I.P. Michael Crichton

Michael Crichton has passed away at age 66. I was somewhat surprised by this because he looked so young. I guess I am not the only one who felt that way. I was never the biggest fan of his actual writing because the books themselves did not always flow smoothly and he had trouble figuring out how to end books. This did not stop me from reading all of his novels save one (which I have at home to eventually read). I am sad that there will be no more.  Jurassic Park was tremendous, but my favorite remains State of Fear. Not because of its detailed discussion of anthropogenic global warming, but more from the idea of a state of fear. I will stop there and let you read the book for yourself.

Here are a few other posts on Crichton from Critical Mass and Ross Douthat.

Responses

  1. Another recent sad passing:

    Studs Terkel, 96

    I’m sure you hate this liberal rag, but you can’t be offended by a tribute peice, can you?
    http://www.thenation.com/blogs/thebeat/379041/the_grand_immoderation_of_studs_terkel?rel=sidebox


Leave a Reply

Categories

