Posted by: Bill | November 18, 2008

Steeler Football

Heather, myself, our friend Gary and his friend went to see the Steelers and Chargers on Sunday afternoon. For the 2nd year in a row, we were a bit unlucky with the weather as it oscillated from freezing rain to snow to just plain cold and windy. Last year, it rained the entire game.

Nevertheless, the game was still quite enjoyable as the Steelers were victorious 11-10. This was my 2nd Steeler home game (and 4th overall). It would have taken some type of natural disaster to keep me from the game. Heather, on the other hand, does not enjoy the cold. Anyone who knows her is well aware of this. Our 3rd anniversary is tomorrow and I’m sure there will be some type of gift and I know there will be a good meal. Her sitting through the game on such a cold day was quite the gift already.

Heather at Heinz Field

Heather at Heinz Field

As usual, the Steeler defense was borderline phenomenal and the offense did just enough to win. This remains uncomfortable, but a win is a win. It was made sweeter coupled with the Ravens being pummeled by the Giants. I uttered many an expletive due to the Steelers being called for 13 penalties compared to San Diego’s 2.

We hung out with Heather’s friend Hilal before the game and I was surprised to see that Iron City Light is still being sold despite many rumors of its demise. Make no mistake-it doesn’t taste good-but it’s appropriate for Steeler games.

Hilal and I with an IC Light

Hilal and I with an IC Light

Here is a picture of the view from our seats. You probably can’t tell, but there are thousands of Terrible Towels flying. We get the Bungles in two days and we need to be 8-3 as we continue to slog through our ridiculous schedule.

Heinz Field

And finally, I will leave you with this gem. I did my best to get a picture of this group of gentlemen, 5 of which were wearing Kordell Stewart jerseys. I will not try to figure out why, but this is comical to any Steeler or, for that matter, NFL fan. They were moving too fast for me to get all of them though and sorry for the blur.

Kordell Fan Club

Kordell Fan Club

Leave a Reply

Categories

