Posted by: Bill | November 30, 2008

Speechless

I don’t get it. I am sitting here, still basking in the Steelers victory earlier today, and I read this. I really am speechless…for now at least.

I also spent some time tonight going over the details of the nihilistic events in Mumbai. I’ve read about targeting of Jews, Americans, Britons, an unprepared police force and general savagery. These events will be debated intensely over the coming weeks. However, the numbers don’t lie. It could have been much worse. If the one terrorist still breathing is telling the truth, you could even say it was a failure. There is no doubt much to learn from for India and the world, but it could have been much worse.

I am not trying to diminish what happened for those who lost loved ones or downplay the event in any way. More educated people than me see it as a Jihadi victory. My gut tells me that, much like 9/11, this will backfire.

Multiple hattips to Instapundit.

Responses

  1. The Wal-Mart story has been all over the news here in the NYC area. What is so disheartening to me is that we have become such a society of consumers that we value some plastic piece of crap from China over the life of another human being. The fact that people weren’t even leaving the store and wanted to stick around and shop is deplorable and I hope that someone is held responsible.


Leave a Reply

Categories

