Posted by: Bill | December 4, 2008

I Rarely Miss An Opportunity…

…to talk about The Wire. If you have never seen the show, I cannot recommend it highly enough. I am not prepared to think hard enough to declare it my favorite show of all time, but I don’t have to think at all to know it’s in the top 3. I was once told by a colleague that I was the Lester Freamon of our organization. I consider this one of the best compliments I have ever received.

Three different blogs had posts recently about the show. Considering it was over months ago, this speaks well to its lingering popularity. Its five seasons are a masterful piece of storytelling, character development and drama. You can also draw much more than “a good story” from it if you wish which is what these bloggers are debating. There are spoilers within so read at your own risk. I hope that fans of the show enjoy these posts from Ross Douthat, Ta-Nehisi Coates, and Jeffrey Goldberg.

Personally, I think that Ta-Nehisi does a very nice job of summarizing my issues with Season 5. I had an uneasy feeling while watching it. I couldn’t tell if that was because some of the plotlines were forced or because of the direction they went with McNulty and Freamon. As someone with right of center beliefs on many issues, I found the discussion amongst these 3 very interesting as well.

Responses

  1. […] The Wire on Slate a few moments ago between David Plotz and Jeffrey Goldberg. As you may remember, I love The Wire. I only read the first 3 segments of this discussion and it makes me want to purchase the Boxset […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

