Posted by: Bill | January 20, 2009

Inauguration Run

Myself, Heather and our friends Heather and Lara decided to jog down to the Mall today to take in the sites. We live about 2 miles from multiple bridges to the District so we were not intimidated by the logistics.

The positives of this plan of attack are speed and agility. We basically carried nothing and were a lot warmer than all of those people walking or standing around…until we stopped moving. At this point, the cold takes over and it’s just pain after that. This is not my point however.

I wanted to share a few pictures of our experience and very limited commentary which, as you are all aware, is difficult for me.

30, not too many people on the Memorial Bridge yet

At 8:30, not too many people on the Memorial Bridge yet

The Potomac is mostly frozen

The Potomac is mostly frozen

Our runners are in good spirits

Our runners are in good spirits

15, skies are overcast which doesn't help my picture

Crowd is growing around 9:15, skies are overcast which doesn't help my picture

Really glad we decided to make the trip

Really glad we decided to make the trip

iPhone camera limitations shining through

iPhone camera limitations shining through

I think the cold weather is actually affecting the iPhone now

I think the cold weather is actually affecting the iPhone now

On Saturday, a friend and I did a long run from home down along the Mall, to RFK and then back home again. Our main observation (outside of the general misery of a 16 mile run in 20 degree weather) was that the Mall boasted the greatest collection of Portajohns we had ever seen. Here is a view of one of many Portajohn cities.

img_0171

Reports are that restrooms were not a problem today. Indeed, it appears that things were the opposite. Change has come! A Portajohn for all Americans.

To each her own

To each her own

We did not stay for the actual ceremony. Stopping and standing around did not go well as we all started to freeze. Removing gloves to take pictures was quite painful. The mood on the mall and, I think, the country, was contagious today. That so many would brave Fortress DC on a frigid day was more testimony to that fact. I remain cautiously optimistic about our 44th President. I have liked what I’ve seen since the election (I will write more on my thoughts on the cabinet soon).

Everyone knows he has been dealt a rough hand, but no one was talking about it today. We just witnessed thousands upon thousands of smiles and you can’t say you see that every day. I spent a little time at my non-cynical apex and it felt great.

Responses

  1. […] may recall this was a really cold week. I ran three times in sub-20 degree weather (plus this run on inauguration day). I mention it here because it was most likely a first and I was having the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

