Posted by: Bill | March 20, 2009

Raceday looming

Tomorrow is the National Marathon in which, fitness willing, I will finish without wanting to retire from endurance athletics. Training was going pretty well until a project at work raged out of control leading to 9 consecutive days of no workouts at all.  It’s been a long time since I have had to pull hours like this (story for another time). This training lull has me lowering expectations for tomorrow. If nothing else, I will cross the finish line, hopefully have an awkward running picture or two and move within 1 marathon of equaling my wife’s total. Been chasing her for years (I know, so…many…jokes).

I was able to secure today as a vacation day giving me an opportunity to “catch up” on many things. In reality, after picking up many a race packet at the DC Armory, I am spending the day on the couch watching basketball, resisting the urge to drink beer and trying to make up for lost blogging time. Long story short (I know, I say that a lot), I am throwing this post in here to explain why your RSS aggregator of choice is being bombarded with my inane writings.

Speaking of basketball, West Virginia just disappointed me greatly. I wish I paid enough attention to know that Bob Huggins was their coach. I would have had them losing in the first round had I known that. What is his tourney record? He has been underachieving in March since I was in high school.

Leave a Reply

Categories

