Posted by: Bill | April 7, 2009

Not important enough

All views and skepticism on causes of climate change aside, what Megan is illustrating is the collision of being “green”  (defined in a thousand different ways by the mainstream media) and human nature. The vast vast vast majority of us are not going to change our lifestyle or be greatly inconvenienced unless a) we are forced to by the government (I am not a fan of this) or b) we are really scared of the consequences.

Personally, no one has even begun to show me evidence of scary consequences. As usual, I am once again postponing an entry on the science itself because I know that is going to take me a long time to compose. In addition to being presented with more evidence, I want to see all of the people telling me that life as we know it will be irrevocably harmed start acting like it. Convince me with your actions and…maybe even a wild look of fear and desperation in your eyes.

I am more than happy to provide a few examples:

  • Recycling – I don’t have any issues with it and Heather and I recycle everything the county lets us recycle. It doesn’t involve too much extra effort on our part. We are going to pay for it whether we recycle or not. The only way not to pay the tax (which Arlington calls a fee) would be to discontinue trash collection altogether. This is not a good option. This is a loose example of a) above where the powers that be basically tell you this is how it is. As for whether or not this actually helps the environment, I have no idea. I would venture to guess that every locality is different based on the process they use, how they collect, the fees involved, where the materials would have gone had they not been recycled, etc, etc. As a consumer, they didn’t have to convince me because they are charging me.
  • Low-flow toilets – Megan mentions these and I have heard enough similar stories that this type of toilet will not be entering our house. I will happily pay extra for a regular toilet should one of the current ones die. If the government tells me I can’t have one, they are going to have to come in and rip the current one out after removing my various barricades and unchaining me from it.
  • Dryer that does not dry – I hope that industry overcomes this issue. As head launderer in our house, I already devote a great deal of time to this task. Our current dryer does an excellent job on the “Low” setting and I sometimes even use “Extra Low”. The asynchronous nature of laundry is already a killer from an efficiency standpoint and I don’t want that to get worse.
Leave a Reply

Categories

