Posted by: Bill | April 7, 2009

Same old same old

Can’t say that I’m surprised by this, but many are reacting with shock and horror that the Obama justice department would operate in the same way as its predecessor. Why are you surprised people?

Right, wrong, rule of law, what is best for the country = not important. Getting what I want, power, getting reelected, keeping my job, rent-seeking = paramount. Very cynical lately…sorry. This is one of the reasons I love my job. While we often have to deal with roadblocks thrown up by all of the categories I derided above, we are small enough to stay on mission and make decisions based on what we believe is best for our customers, our employees and, most importantly, the students that our teachers will one day influence.

As for my own opinion on DC residents getting some true representation in the House, I am in favor. However, I most certainly am not in favor if it means violating the Constitution. I maintain they should merge with Maryland. The Potomac forms a nice natural boundary and since Maryland has leaned left for most of the last 30 years, the 116% of the District population that votes Democrat won’t have a huge impact.

Leave a Reply

Categories

