Posted by: Bill | April 22, 2009

2 quick education articles

The first one is par for the course when it comes to how school districts make personnel decisions. A woman nominated to be Teacher of the Year in New Hampshire was laid off the same week because “they have to go on seniority”. Since I have been with ABCTE longer than any other current staff members, I trust my job is safe no matter how I am performing. Based on this, I need to start slacking off right now.

The second is an interesting study on what parents might consider when choosing a pre-school. While it’s only one study, the results seem logical to me. At that age, I would think that the school climate would be more important than the credentials of the teachers and some of the other factors that the study indicated really didn’t matter. Pretty much all of my friends will be making pre-school decisions in the next few years and what I’ve heard from those who already have little ones in pre-school is consistent with the results.

Leave a Reply

Categories

