Posted by: Bill | August 19, 2009

First amendment goes both ways

Before we get to the video, let me be clear that I am not a fan of Barney Frank. His shenanigans on the House Financial Services Committee (specifically regarding Fannie and Freddie) are legendary by themselves. Since Barney is not the point of this post, I will leave it at that.

The video belows is an interaction between him and a heckler at a townhall in Massachusetts. In my opinion, he does a decent job of throwing some silliness of his own right back at the heckler. I think this is justified (obviously by the first amendment) because I think it’s okay to retaliate with some crazy of your own when someone is drawing connections between Nazis/Hitler/etc. and Obama. I think even Hitler would be pissed at that comparison.

I know, perhaps he could have engaged her and tried to see why she thinks Obama is comparable to a Nazi, but I think he correctly recognizes that reason is not going to work in this case.

Leave a Reply

Categories

