Posted by: Bill | August 19, 2009

Pseudo race report

This past weekend was the Luray Triathlon. On the way to our hotel Friday night, I could tell something wasn’t quite right. I feared I was getting sick. We settled in to our spacious and luxurious room at the Day’s Inn and went to sleep, anxiously awaiting the 5:30 am wakeup. Turns out I was getting sick. I didn’t really get any solid sleep until about 4:45. I had what felt like one of those 24 hour flu-type things going on. I was tempted to still try to do the race, but no sleep combined with feeling only about 60% changed my mind.

Since we were there already and two of Heather’s Luna teammates were competing, we headed over to watch. Watching these races never seems to get old for us. Sitting there made me really want to be out there which is a good sign that retirement is still a number of years away. We like the look of the race so perhaps we will return in a future year.

Here are some pictures we took while watching. Whatever I have has continued all the way until today. I am finally feeling better. Mostly, I have a sore throat and what may become a chest cold. A chest cold is the last thing I want one month before the Patriot’s Half. The bachelor party I am attending in Savannah (starting tomorrow) is probably not going to help either. These are all good problems to have though so I will cease complaining.

Leave a Reply

Categories

