Posted by: Bill | September 9, 2009

Public Service Announcement for Nerds

While I aspire to be a good computer nerd and, according to my wife, I am a SciFi nerd as well, these typical nerd designations are not my topic today. A couple months ago, I saw a tip on one of the many RSS feeds I monitor (can’t remember which one right now) about using your local library to check out the courses offered by The Teaching Company. I have often thought about trying one of these out, but never thought to check the local library and was also worried about the cost. It turns out, our Arlington branch has dozens of these courses.

If you are a nerd like me who also has issues with most radio stations (including NPR sometimes), I suggest you check your library. I have been moving through these courses quite fast during my commute. Once I drop Heather off or before I pick her up, I have been expanding my knowledge on Islam, Buddhism, American History and, most recently, European history from the end of the Middle Ages to modern times.

Granted, this isn’t perfect. Sometimes my mind wanders and you can only absorb so much, but the lectures themselves have been engaging and they do a great job of presenting the big picture. Sometimes, the disks have been nicked up and skip, but most have been in good condition. And yes, it won’t cost you a dime.

Leave a Reply

Categories

