Posted by: Bill | October 22, 2009

Time to Grow Up

I’m not there yet. I keep thinking that the next milestone or “life event” will get me there. Graduating from college? Didn’t work. All of a sudden, in return for working 55-60 hours a week, I had more money that I had ever seen before, a car and no one looking over my shoulder. I was definitely not feeling like an adult.

Turning 30, getting married and owning a home all happened in the same 12 months. I thought owning a home might be the difference maker, but although there is much blood, toil and treasure expended on behalf of our home, it didn’t work. A few months later, Heather and I were married. Maybe if I had married someone with fewer brain cells and less independence, this might have made me feel like an adult. Alas, it did not.

If the impending arrival of <Rikki and Vikki?> doesn’t do it, I’m not sure what will. Not one, but two extra miniature beings who depend on me? There is so much to screw up there. If this doesn’t do it, I may have to up the ante and ascend to various public offices ultimately leading to the presidency of the United States…or maybe a small island nation. Maybe Guam would pseudo-secede so I can finally feel grown up? I’ve also heard Palau is nice.

Responses

  1. I hope you keep enjoying the Peter Pan syndrome (“I’ll never grow up…”) for many more years. When “Shad-O, and Sky-Lark” arrive you will keep learning every day for years, and years. Lots of new experiences and wonderment.

    Hopefully “I’m too young for this ” will go on for years before being replaced by “I’m too old for this”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

