Posted by: Bill | January 8, 2010

A word on the 2009 Steelers

I’m not going to say a whole lot here. Anyone who watches the NFL witnessed the debacle. I will give you this post from my favorite Steelers blog, Behind the Steel Curtain. It’s a thumbnail of the season and I think this paragraph matches my feelings exactly.

It was almost as if someone made a deal with the football gods in 2008 to find ways to pull out ballgames, including the Super Bowl, and in return had to give them all back in 2009.  The bad news is that you never want your team to make the precipitous drop of being Super Bowl Champions one year to not making the playoffs the next.  The good news is the operative words “Super Bowl Champions” in any form or fashion.

This is the right tone I think. You will not hear me complain because I root for a team that just won it all for the 2nd time in 4 years. It was painful, but we saw some good things this year along with the bad. We witnessed the rise of Rashard and Mike Wallace, the enigma that is Limas Sweed, the pain of watching every team throw at William Gay and we got a feel for how important Troy really is to the defense. I’m looking forward to next season and I have no idea how the rest of this season will pan out. It’s a mess and should be fun to watch while entertaining two little girls.

Leave a Reply

Categories

